Life Begins At…..

Since my last post, I had my 40th birthday. Originally, I had organised – or, more accurately attempted to organise – a large party to celebrate. However, there really are two things I ought to know about myself by now:

  1. I am somewhat socially challenged, and thus, am pretty rubbish at parties;
  2. I am pretty poor at organising things like parties

So, I ended up scaling it back from a huge party held at our church building, to an open-house party in the daytime and drinks at a bar in central Edinburgh.

I had a wonderful time! The open-house was extremely well attended, and for those who could not make it I did a livestream broadcast on Periscope (an app built by the guys at Twitter) and a Google Hangout. The evening drinks at the bar was less well attended, but the people who did attend made it an awesome night out.

They say that life begins at 40. Well, I have to be honest and say that I really do have a life beyond my dreams. I have a wonderful wife, two amazing kids, fantastic parents, a very loyal and loving close network of friends, and a bunch of professional colleagues who inspire me to be better at my job every day. Who could possibly ask for more!? I have been blessed beyond all I could have ever imagined 20 years ago.

So, this post is dedicated to all those people in my life I have mentioned above, with love and the deepest gratitude for all that you have done for me and helped me, shaping me to become all that I am today.

Thank You.

Leave a Reply

